Fireball Apple Whisky Cupcakes [Recipe]

So I tend to do desserts when it comes to Navy gatherings, and each time has been met with really good reception and success…but I didn’t doubt my capabilities to bake. So Devan’s 23rd birthday was coming up and she was asking people to bring food if they wanted and I figured I’d make a dessert…might as well make a cake or cupcakes for her party. Since it was country themed, what better to fit in than with Fireball Cinnamon Whisky. You know, I’m not quite sure how “country” it really is, but I tend to see people taking shots of it in country bars where I first encountered it. But I digress…here’s the recipe. 

I actually found it on Pinterest on If you give a Blonde a Kitchen – if you want to go full on Martha Stewart and bake everything from scratch, click that link…if you want the quick version…read below. 

The set up 

So instead of making the cake part from scratch, I took inventory of what it originally called for and it seemed really similar to Spice Cake mix you can buy at the store. I basically followed the directions on the box, but instead of water I used apple cider. For extra boozy goodness, you can use flat room temperature hard cider. 

 

From there I did make the apples and frosting from scratch.

Apples:

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 2 large (or 3 small) crisp apples peeled, cored, and diced (I used Gala apples)
  • ¼ cup dark brown sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1½ teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons whiskey
  1. Melt the butter in a medium-sized saucepan over medium heat. Add the apples, sugar, cinnamon, salt, and vanilla.  Cook for about 10 minutes on medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until the apples are soft and have released their juices.  (It will smell delicious!)
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the whiskey with cornstarch. Then add to the pan with the apples and cook for another 3 minutes, until the liquid thickens.  Set aside to cool.

Frosting:

  • 1 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 3½ cups powdered sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1-2 tablespoons whiskey
  1. Cream the butter for a minute or two.  Add the powdered sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla extract. Beat on medium speed until creamy.
  2. Add the whiskey, start with one tablespoon and add more until you reach desired consistency (I ended up using 2 tablespoons).  Beat on high for 2-3 minutes, until fluffy and whipped.

I cored the center of the cupcakes with a melon baller and filled it with a little of the apple mix and reserved a little for the top.

cored and filled cupcakes

You could probably shortcut the apples and frosting too. For the apples, use pre-made apple pie filling and stir in the Fireball. For the frosting, use whipped cream cheese, add cinnamon and whisky and re-whip with a mixer.

Here’s the final product:

Aww yiss

Leave a comment